Academy Governing Body

All academies within the Trust are governed by the L.E.A.D. Academy Trust Board and Members. The L.E.A.D. Academy Trust governance structure establishes clear lines of accountability, overview and scrutiny at three levels: The L.E.A.D. Academy Trust Members; the L.E.A.D. Academy Trust Board and its Committees; and the Academy Governing Bodies (AGBs).  

The AGB meets formally three times each year (termly) and also meets informally each term through engagement meetings. The Trusts scheme of delegation, AGB terms of reference and articles of association can be accessed here:

L.E.A.D. Academy Trust – Governance

These key documents set out the function and role of the AGB. Please find below details about this academy’s AGB membership, including the names, categories, responsibilities, pecuniary interests and terms of appointment for each member.

Academy Governing Body Table

NameGovernor category How appointedDate of appointment Term of office   Business interests declaredGovernance roles in other educational institutionsAGB Attendance: Academic Year 2022-23
Ann Donaghy Headteachern/an/an/a  Member of Association of School and College Leaders (ASCL).   Member of Midlands Knowledge Hub.Associate Governor, Overseal Primary School, Derbyshire.   Husband is Vice-Chair of Governing Body for Ibstock Community College, Leicestershire.  3/3
Alan LeaskParent GovernorElected unopposed2 December 2020Resigned 16 December 2022Chairman of Shelton Lock Community Welfare Centre.None0/1
Mathew TarrantStaff Governor (Support) Elected by staff 5 February 2019 Resigned 03 May 2023NoneNone0/2
Maria AdeseunCommunity GovernorAppointed by Trust19 July 20224 yearsNoneNone3/3
Joe GlynnCommunity GovernorAppointed by Trust2 October 20204 yearsSenior Analyst Cabinet Office.  None2/3
Tom HowellCommunity GovernorAppointed by Trust22 March 20224 yearsHead of Geography at Repton SchoolNone2/3
Carolyn MarriottCommunity GovernorAppointed by Trust20 May 20204 yearsNoneNone3/3
Syed ShahidCommunity GovernorAppointed by TrustResigned 27 April 2023n/aAerothermal Engineer at Rolls-Royce.None0/2
Kenrick White Community Governor Appointed by Trust 1 March 2021 (initially appointed on 1 March 2017)  Resigned 13 December 2023Director and owner of more than 1% of Youth Education Project Ltd.  None1/3
Ben SaundersParent GovernorElected unopposed20 September 20231 yearAwaitingAwaitingN/A
Amy AinsworthStaff GovernorElected unopposed4 October 20234 yearsAwaitingAwaitingN/A
Debbie BroadhurstStaff GovernorElected unopposed15 December 20234 yearsAwaitingAwaitingN/A